Schedules on Opal usually use a Block List, asking you to select apps and websites you want to block for the duration of your Schedule. With our Allow Only feature, you may flip this around, blocking all apps and websites on your device except the ones you explicitly allow. With Allow Only, you may turn your iOS into a brick phone (or dumb phone) at whatever times you choose. To set up Allow Only session, you'll need to take three separate steps.
Step 1: Review and confirm your existing "Always Allowed" Apps
You’ll want to first review your "Always Allowed" list of apps and websites within Opal. Apps that are in the "Always Allowed" category will always be allowed, and supersede any Schedules that you initiate. To check which apps are "Always Allowed", take these steps:
- Tap on “My Apps”
- Tap on “Always Allowed”
We recommend keeping apps you deem essential in the "Always Allowed" category. We'd suggest any medical apps, maps, camera, or anything else that you need unimpeded access to at all times. Once that's complete, you may create an Allow List within your Schedule.
Step 2: Toggle on or toggle off “Block Websites in Allow-Only Rules” in your Opal Settings
During an Allow Only Rule, iOS blocks websites everywhere - including web content that is hosted inside of apps. Due to this, apps you’ve allowed may show part of their content as restricted. On that note, if you’d like websites to be blocked in Allow Only rules, take these steps:
- Tap on “Home”
- Tap on “Profile” (accessible from the top right corner)
- Tap on “Settings” (accessible from the top right corner)
- Scroll down and toggle on/off “Block Websites in Allow-Only Rules”
Unfortunately, Opal is unable to bypass this Apple restriction.
Step 3: Enable Allow Only for your specific Rule
To block using Allow Only, take these steps:
- Tap on the "My Apps" tab
- Tap on the "+" icon
- Tap “Schedule” or “Session”
- Tap on "Selected Apps”
- Tap on “Allow Only”
- Observe that the apps and websites on your Always Allowed list are already included
- Tap on “+Add App or Website” and select which apps or websites you’d like to access during your Rule
- Tap on the checkmark icon
- Confirm the remaining details of your Rule
- Tap and “Hold to Commit”
Once that's complete, Allow Only is activated for your Rule.
‼️ Adult content is always restricted during Allow Only Rules. Private browsing features in your browser are also disabled by default.
I want to be able to access Adult Content or Private Browsing during my Allow Only Rule!
Unfortunately, it’s not possible to access Adult Content or Private Browsing while using our Allow Only feature. To access Adult Content or Private Browsing, you must wait until the Rule ends.