What's new in Opal?Read release notes
Legacy OpalOpal
← All help articles
How to use Opal’s features

How to use Schedules

Schedules are an integral feature of Opal. They allow you to block or Allow Only apps/websites you find distracting for a scheduled period of time. All Opal users, regardless of subscription status, may set up three Rules (including Schedules). Meanwhile, those who’ve upgraded to Opal Pro may set unlimited Rules (on a weekly schedule).

How do I add a Schedule on the iOS version?

To add a Schedule on the iOS version of the app, tap on the "+" button on the "My Apps" tab and select “Schedule." You may then edit the following information about your Schedule by tapping on the editing icons:

  • Schedule Name (tap on the pen icon)

  • "Apps Blocked”

  • Block: these apps and websites will be blocked during your Rule

  • Allow Only: all apps, except the ones selected, will be blocked

  • The period the Schedule applies

  • "On these days”

  • Tap on “Difficulty,” and you will see the following options:

  • Easy: You can unblock apps after a short pause.

  • Increasing: Gets longer every time you unblock.

  • Hard Mode: You can’t unblock apps, cancel, or bypass (available only on Opal Pro)

  • “Other Settings”

  • “Waiting Room”

  • “Block Screens”

Once you’ve set up your Difficulty Level, tap the “<” toggle. Then “Hold to Commit” until you see the word “Committed” appear. Your Schedule is now live.

How can I Unblock my app or website in a Schedule on the iOS version?

You may only take breaks or Leave Early on apps or websites on “Easy” or “Increasing” difficulty. If you have multiple Rules applying to the same app or website, “Hard Mode” will supersede all other protection levels. However, if you’ve selected “Easy” or “Increasing” difficulty levels, you may unblock by following these steps:

  • From the “My Apps” tab, tap on the blocked app you’d like to access below the “Blocked Apps” header
  • Wait for the Waiting Room to countdown
  • Tap “Continue”
  • Select how long you would like to “Unblock for….”
  • Tap “Unblock”

If you’ve setup your Schedule so that it does not allow unblocks, you will be unable to follow the steps above. Instead, you must wait until it resets to edit it.

How Can I Edit, Leave Early, or Delete My Schedule on the iOS version?

You may edit, leave early, or delete a Schedule on “Easy” or “Increasing” difficulty. You may edit, leave early, or delete your Schedule by following these steps:

  • From the “My Apps" tab, tap on your Schedule (below “Rules”)

  • Tap “Edit,” “Unblock Apps,” or “Leave Early” (depending on your preference)

  • To “Edit” your Schedule

  • Tap “Edit”

  • Wait for the Waiting Room to countdown

  • Tap “Continue”

  • Make the changes you prefer, and tap “Done”

  • If you instead want to “Delete Rule,” tap the button

  • To “Leave Early” on your Schedule

  • Tap “Leave Early”

  • Wait for the Waiting Room to countdown

  • Tap “Continue”

  • “Set pause duration”

  • Tap “Pause”

  • If you instead want to “Delete Rule,” tap the button

What if I need to access to an app or website that’s locked on the iOS version?

If you require emergency access to an app that is locked, the iOS version of Opal has an Emergency Pass that you may use once per week. Here's how to disable a locked app/website in the event of an emergency:

  • Open the Opal app on your iOS device
  • Tap on “Home”
  • Tap on “Profile” (accessible from the profile icon in the top right corner)
  • Tap on “Settings” (accessible from the drop down menu)
  • Scroll down and tap on “Emergency Pass”
  • Tap “Hold to Redeem”

This button will cancel all of your currently running Sessions, Schedules, Time Limits, and/or Open Limits for one hour, and will also cancel any “Hard Mode” Timer that is active. If your recurrent Sessions, Schedules, Time Limits, and/or Open Limits are programmed to reinitiate, you must edit or delete them (as needed) immediately after using your Emergency Pass. It's also important to note that the "Emergency Pass" should only be used when necessary, as it is strictly available once per week. If you've already used your “Emergency Pass” this week, our Support team is unable to force end a Session, Schedule, Time Limit, Open Limit, or Timer for you. For that reason, we recommend only using your Emergency Pass in a true emergency.