The core functionality of Opal is to block apps. In order to do so, Opal uses Apple's Screen Time API technology, which you must grant Opal permission to use on the iOS version of the app. Unfortunately, this is mandatory due to limitations imposed by Apple. However, given that this technology is local and developed by Apple, all of your browsing and app usage data remains on your device.
How do I grant Screen Time access to Opal?
You may enable or disable Opal's access to Screen Time at any time from your device Settings. To do, follow these steps:
- Exit Opal
- Tap on the "Settings" app
- Scroll down and tap on "Screen Time"
- Scroll down and toggle on "Opal: Screen Time for Focus"
How do I prevent myself from randomly disabling Opal’s access to Screen Time?
If you find yourself disabling Opal’s access to Screen Time to bypass your Rules, here’s how to fix that:
- Set up a Screen Time Passcode
- Set up our Shortcut which will return you to Opal every time you open your “Settings” during a Rule